Literacy Award

Each year, the Aroostook Right to Read Organization presents a Literacy Award to an individual or team who has made significant contributions to literacy learning in Aroostook County. The recipient(s) of the Literacy Award is invited to attend the annual Young Authors' Conference where a special presentation is held to honor them. 

Literacy Award Recipients

2023 Pat Richard

2022 Kevin Sipe

2021 Anne Odgers

2020 no recipient - YA Conference was not held

2019 Mary Graham

2018 Gretchen Asam

2017 Kim Barnes

2016 Betsey York


2014 Leona Michaud

2013 Gail Gibson

2012 Jessica Dow

2011 Katie Martin-Stephens

2010 Rea Caldwell and Rebecca Drew

2009 Nancy Truman and Lynn Flewelling

2008 Margaret Coolong


2006 Nancy Todd


2004 Cathy Kelly and Twyla Learnard

2003 Pam Sayers

2002 Kayanne Levesque


2000 Scotty Clark

1999 John Hedman